Carey was founded in 1923 with the support of the Baptist Union of Victoria, initially as a day and boarding school for boys. The school is named in honour of Revd. Dr William Carey, a Baptist missionary and self-taught language scholar who dedicated much of his life to humanitarian work in India in the eighteenth century.
In 1957 Carey was invited to join the Associated Public Schools of Victoria (APS) and students now compete in both the APS and Associated Grammar Schools (AGS) sporting competitions.
Girls were enrolled for the first time in 1979, initially in Years 11 and 12. From 1986, girls were enrolled in all year levels of the school. The school caters for students in Early Learning Centre, Junior, Middle and Senior Schools.
Contexte géographique et culturel
Textes de référence
Officer in charge: Archivist - Helen Wolff
Gestion des archives courantes et intermédiaires et politiques de collecte
The School Archives is geared to documenting and preserving school records from Carey's Foundation Day, 13 February 1923, covering the history and heritage of the school.
The archives accepts significant private papers and memorabilia from past students and staff.
Mostly presented by Old Grammarians and their families, the collections include photographs, sporting trophies, prizes, school uniforms and a variety of fascinating ephemera including museum-quality Australian artefacts not directly related to the School but bequeathed to Carey by members of our community.