National Trust of Australia (Northern Territory), Darwin

Identity area



Authorized form of name

National Trust of Australia (Northern Territory), Darwin

Parallel form(s) of name

Other form(s) of name

  • National Trust (Northern Territory)


  • Community

Contact area


Research Officer



Street address

Audit House, 2 Burnett Place, Larrakeyah, NT 0820
Postal address: GPO Box 3520 Darwin, NT 0801




Northern Territory

Country name

Postal code



08 8981 2848



Description area


National Trust of Australia (Northern Territory) is a community-based organisation with a charter to promote the preservation and awareness of the heritage of the Northern Territory.

The most important objective of the National Trust is to promote the preservation of our heritage in whatever form that takes – buildings, places of historic, social, scientific or aesthetic significance or more intangible cultural heritage.

The Trust in the Northern Territory maintains a property portfolio of nineteen historic buildings, several of which are open to the public. Some properties feature interpretive displays drawing on the history and setting of the sites. Other properties are leased and only open to the public on special occasions.

Through branches in Darwin, Katherine, Borroloola, and Alice Springs as well as a presence in Timber Creek, Tennant Creek and Pine Creek, the National Trust reaches out into the community and monitors heritage issues throughout the Territory. Community involvement in its work is highly valued.

One of the ongoing major tasks of the National Trust is to act as an advocate for conservation and to lobby governments in matters of cultural heritage, legislation and conservation.

The Hartley Street School Museum, restored in 1980, is now the centre for heritage in Alice Springs.

Geographical and cultural context

Mandates/Sources of authority

Details of the Council in the Northern Territory and annual reports are available at

Administrative structure

Officer in charge: Research Officer

Records management and collecting policies

The data of the National Trust is site specific and is mostly contained in reports on survey and documentation of heritage sites. Register files are comprehensive.



The National Trust has built and maintains an archive and research library relating to historic places. The Register of Significant Places is the most comprehensive collection of historic material relating to buildings and places available to researchers in the Northern Territory. Records include:

  • Site reports
  • Register files.

Finding aids, guides and publications

Access area

Opening times

Open Monday to Friday, 8.30am-4.30pm.
Closed public holidays and Christmas-New Year period.

Access conditions and requirements

Advance notice of visit required.


Services area

Research services

Referral to paid researchers is available. Introductory brochure available.

Reproduction services

Copying services available.

Public areas

Control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

Access points

Access Points

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders (Thematic area)
  • Arts and Culture (Thematic area)
  • Built Environment (Thematic area)
  • Environment (Thematic area)
  • Local Studies (Thematic area)
  • Science and Technology (Thematic area)
  • Transportation (Thematic area)
  • Clipboard

Primary contact

Audit House, 2 Burnett Place, Larrakeyah, NT 0820 Postal address: GPO Box 3520 Darwin, NT 0801
Darwin, Northern Territory 0820