PLC Sydney was founded in 1888 as a day and boarding school for girls and now caters for students from pre-Kindergarten to Year 12. It is associated with the Presbyterian Church of Australia in New South Wales.
When the college opened, it was the first school in New South Wales to be established by the Presbyterian Church. The College’s first classes began at Fernlea, a ‘gentleman’s residence’ in Ashfield.
In 1891, the college moved to Shubra Hall in Croydon. The now iconic hall was once the home of Anthony Hordern III, of the Hordern department store dynasty.
During the Depression and World War II years, growth slowed and the college moved to temporary premises in Strathfield so that a RAAF radar unit could operate from the Croydon campus. In 1946 the college returned to the Croydon campus and enrolments increased. New facilities were built to ensure that a high level of instruction was maintained.
Geografische en culturele context
Mandaat/bronnen van bevoegdheid
Records management and collecting policies
The Presbyterian Ladies’ College Sydney Archives collects, processes and preserves selected non-current records, memorabilia and artefacts that document the founding, organisation, administration, growth and development, and people associated with the College.
Documents from 1887 to the present (both hard copy and electronic versions)
Images (photographs and digital formats)
Audiovisuals (film, VHS, DVD and mp3 formats)
Items of school uniform,and objects.
The Archives is housed in the Hamilton Building, completed in 2017 and enjoys temperature and humidity control.
Toegangen, gidsen en publicaties
Articles about the school and its staff and students can be accessed from the website, www.plc.nsw.edu.au, in the Archives Microsite.
Direct research enquiries to the Archivist. Appointments can be arranged at a mutually convenient time.
Raadpleegvoorwaarden en -eisen
Some records have restricted access and written permission must be granted prior to using the records.
Exhibition area: A display area is maintained in the Marden Heritage Centre.