Charles Sturt University (CSU) Regional Archives, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales

Identity area



Authorized form of name

Charles Sturt University (CSU) Regional Archives, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales

Parallel form(s) of name

Other form(s) of name

  • CSU Regional Archives
  • State Archives and Records NSW – Wagga Wagga Regional Archives Centre


  • University
  • State

Contact area


Manager, CSU Regional Archives and University Art Collection



Street address

Nathan Cobb Drive, Charles Sturt University, Wagga Wagga


Wagga Wagga


New South Wales

Country name

Postal code



0497 529 690



Description area


The Charles Sturt University Regional Archives (formerly, the Riverina Archives) has been collecting archival material from the Riverina and Murray regions since 1973 and became an autonomous entity in 1978.
The archival collection spans over 4500 linear meters and is managed as four distinct parts: University Records, State Archives, Regional Records, and The Page Research Centre Collection (holding archival material created by the National Party of Australia and its predecessors).
For more information about history of the Archives, see

Geographical and cultural context

A Regional Archives Centre (RAC) for NSW State Archives, collecting for the Riverina and Murray regions of New South Wales.

Mandates/Sources of authority

Charles Sturt University Act 1989 (NSW)
State Records Act 1998 (NSW)

Administrative structure

Records management and collecting policies

  • Corporate archives of Charles Sturt University and its precursor institutions
  • NSW State Archives and Records Regional Archives Centre for state archives from public offices in the NSW Survey and Planning Regions of Riverina (6) and Murray (5)
  • Private archives from the same regions.


Level 4, William Merrylees Library, Building 13, Charles Sturt University, Wagga Wagga.


Corporate archives of Charles Sturt University and those of its precursor institutions, including:

  • Wagga Experiment Farm
  • Wagga Agricultural College
  • Wagga Wagga Teachers’ College
  • Mitchell College of Advanced Education
  • Goulburn College of Advanced Education
  • Riverina College of Advanced Education and
  • Riverina-Murray Institute of Higher Education.

State archives from public offices from regions 5 and 6 in New South Wales, with strengths in Lands, Local Government and Court House records.

Private archives holdings are extensive and include records of farmers and graziers, businesses and professions, politicians, interest groups, sporting clubs, community organisations and cultural agencies.

Finding aids, guides and publications

All finding aids are available on the Charles Sturt University Regional Archives website at:

Access area

Opening times

Open Monday to Friday 9am-5pm.
Closed Christmas-New Year period and public holidays.

Access conditions and requirements

Advance notice of visit is preferable since access conditions vary from one collection to another. A search ticket is required to access state archives holdings, and can be issued immediately on production of identification.


Services area

Research services

Reference assistance and general copying services available.

Reproduction services

Public areas

Control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Revised 17 February 2023




Maintenance notes

Access points

Access Points

  • Agriculture (Thematic area)
  • Arts and Culture (Thematic area)
  • Education (Thematic area)
  • Genealogical (Thematic area)
  • Labour (Thematic area)
  • Local Studies (Thematic area)
  • Media (Thematic area)
  • Medicine and Health (Thematic area)
  • Politics and Government (Thematic area)
  • Recreation / Leisure / Sports (Thematic area)
  • Religion (Thematic area)
  • Social Organisations and Activities (Thematic area)
  • Clipboard

Primary contact

Nathan Cobb Drive, Charles Sturt University, Wagga Wagga
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2678