Camberwell Girls Grammar School (CGGS) educates girls from early learning through to Year 12. It had its beginnings in 1920 when Rev Hubert Brooksbank established St Mark’s Parish School in the church hall to educate young girls. By 1926 the school had outgrown the hall and moved, in 1927, to the newly purchased Torrington Street site, where it remains today. In 1965 Ormiston Girls’ School, the oldest girls’ school on the Australian mainland and the oldest in Victoria, merged with Camberwell Girls Grammar School. The Ormiston name was adopted by the Junior School section. For further information about history, see https://cggs.vic.edu.au/discover/history/
contexto cultural e geográfico
Mandatos/Fontes de autoridade
School Archivist Principal/ Foundations Department/ Archives
Políticas de gestão e entrada de documentos
The history of Camberwell Girls Grammar School and Ormiston Girls School: relating to staff, students, buildings and events.
Buildings: Mountfield Anne Feehan Building; Barbara Fary Science Centre; Barbara Sutton Assembly Hall & Cultural Centre; Holt Wing; Cole Wing; Ormiston House; Ransom Physical Education Centre; Westcott Wing; Woodstock Building.
Marcian Magazine, 1927- present
Stray Leaves (Ormiston Girls School Magazine, 1934-1964)