Eerste contactpersoon91 Pacific Highway, Hornsby
Sydney, New South Wales 2077
In 1890, Rev Henry Plume took up the position of Rector at St Stephen’s Church, Kurrajong. It was here in 1890 that he tutored five local pupils for the Junior, Senior and Matriculation Examinations. Their academic success encouraged Plume to establish his own school. In 1891, Plume selected Stokesleigh, a guest house in Kurrajong Heights, as the site for this school.
The name Barker College was chosen in memory of Frederic Barker, the second Bishop of Sydney whom Plume had met soon after his arrival in Australia. An outbreak of scarlet fever in 1894 convinced Plume that the School was too isolated and would be better located nearer to Sydney. Thus the School moved to its present site in Hornsby in 1896, and in 1919 its ownership transferred to the Church of England.
The arrival of girls in Years 11 in 1975 was the beginnings of coeducation, with the School transitioning to full coeducation by 2022.
The Archives was established in the 1960s by the Master in Charge of History, Mr Stuart Braga, as a result of his research for 'A Brief History of the School' written for the occasion of the seventy fifth anniversary of the foundation of the school in 1965. Braga's efforts to actively seek, collect and preserve the records of the school's early history have resulted in a unique and wonderful collection of records and memorabilia.
The Barker College Archives contains the official records and memorabilia of the School, its associations (eg the Old Barker Association, Barker College Parents Association, The Barker Foundation) and of individuals associated with the School (eg staff, alumni, Council members).
The Archives is happy to receive donations from all members of the Barker College community.